top of page

PP&M Song of the Day: If I Were Free


If I Were Free

Performed by Peter Paul & Mary

Written by Travis Edmonson

If I Were Free is one of many of the songs that PP&M performed in the 1960's that apply more than ever, now, in the 21st Century. It was one of their not-so-well-known songs on one of their their not-so-well-known albums, See What Tomorrow Brings - something that has always baffled me.

There are some awesome songs on the album, among them their version of Gordon Lightfoot's Early Morning Rain, Mary's beautiful rendition of The Last Thing On My Mind, and their beautifully harmonized version of The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face that predated Roberta Flack's version by several years.

The song If I Were Free was written by Arizona folk singer, Travis Edmonson (September 23, 1932 - May 9, 2009), I presume in the 1960's. It was perfectly suited for PP&M's style, with Mary taking the lead vocals on the verses, and Peter and Paul harmonizing on the chorus. And, oh - does it ever still hold true today ...

War is not healthy ...


















IF I WERE FREE

If I were free to speak my mind,

I'd tell a tale to all mankind

Of how the flowers do bloom and fade

Of how we've fought and how we've paid.

This weary world has had its fill

Of words of war on every hill.

The time has come for peaceful days

And peaceful men of peaceful ways.

If I were free to speak my mind,

I'd tell a tale to all mankind

Of how the flowers do bloom and fade

Of how we've fought and how we've paid.

When all mankind has ceased to fight

I'll raise my head in thanks each night

For this rich Earth and all it means

For golden days and peaceful dreams.

If I were free to speak my mind,

I'd tell a tale to all mankind

Of how the flowers do bloom and fade

Of how we've fought and how we've paid.

Make Love Not War


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page